Skip to content

Faculty Leaders

Stephan Graham

Stephan Graham, MS ’74, PhD ’76, is the Chester Naramore Dean of the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences. Previously, he has served as the School’s associate dean for academic affairs and acting dean, as well as chair of the geological sciences department. A recipient of several teaching awards from both Stanford University and outside professional associations, Professor Graham co-leads research groups working on deep-water depositional systems and computational basin modeling, with projects currently underway on five continents. His research interests include sedimentary geology, tectonics and sedimentation, and petroleum geology. Before joining the Stanford faculty in 1980, he held positions in the petroleum industry at Exxon Production Research Company and Chevron USA Exploration and Production Company. 


  • Chester Naramore Dean of the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences
  • Welton Joseph and Maud L’Anphere Crook Professor, Stanford’s School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences
  • Professor, by courtesy, of geophysics, since 1989, and of energy resources engineering, since 1993
  • Co-director, Stanford Project on Deepwater Depositional System, 1992–present, and Basin and Petroleum System Modeling Program, 2007–present
  • Associate dean for academic affairs, 1999–2007 and 2009–2016; acting dean, 2000
  • Fellow, Geological Society of America, 1982
  • Development geologist, 1979–1980, and exploration geologist, 1977–1979, Chevron USA, Inc.; research geologist, 1976–1977, Exxon Corp.


  • At Stanford’s School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences: Dean’s Discretionary Award for Distinguished Service, 2016; Outstanding Teacher Award, 1987
  • Pettijohn Medal, Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), 2017
  • Robert Mitchum Award, European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers, 2016
  • Richard Owen Distinguished Alumni Award, Indiana University, 2014
  • Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator Award, 2007, and Outstanding Educator Award, Pacific Section, 1995—American Association of Petroleum Geologists

Academic History:

  • BA, Geology, 1972, Indiana University
  • MS, Geology, 1974, Stanford University
  • PhD, Geology, 1976, Stanford University


Contact Us

(650) 725-1093